COMMISSION ON CHURCH BUILDINGS

REPORT 2002

Commissioners

Dr R Stinson (Chairman) Mr RWH Kenny Very Rev TR Moore Mr J Ashenhurst Canon FGG Quayle Mrs DM Burns Mr G Bradley Mr WF Baker Very Rev JMG Sirr

Mr JF Buttimore (Secretary to the Commission)

1. The Commission was established by statute of the General Synod Chapter I of 1986.

Section 3 of the Statute states:

- (1) The diocesan council of any diocese may request the commissioners to schedule for enquiry in regard to the number of churches used for public worship the whole or any substantial area or areas of such diocese, and the commissioners after consideration shall determine whether to accede to such request, and shall notify the diocesan council and the Representative Body of its determination.
- (2) Where a diocese or part of it has been scheduled under subsection (1), the bishop, the diocesan council, the parochial authorities, and the Representative Body on the request of the commissioners shall furnish to the commissioners any information which may appear to the commissioners to be necessary to enable them to consider and determine any matter referred to them by this statute for their consideration and determination.
- (3) The commissioners shall not exercise any of their powers under this statute in any diocese except upon the request of the diocesan council.
- 2. The Commission met once during the year.

3. GRANTS

The following grants were recommended for approval by the Representative Body:

Killargue (Kilmore) – removing roof, cap walls: €6,000 Skeirke (Ossory) – making safe tower: €14,000

4. GENERAL SYNOD ALLOCATION

The Commission agreed that the General Synod allocation amounting to \notin 19,050 would not be required in the current year. The amount to credit is \notin 55,368.