General Synod banner imageGeneral Synod banner imageGeneral Synod banner imageGeneral Synod banner image  
General Synod

Wednesday Thursday


Media Centre
Reports and speeches
Bills & Motions

Church of Ireland
General Synod 2003 General Synod General Synod 2001 General Synod 2000 General Synod 1999 General Synod 1998

Tuesday - PROVISIONAL TIMETABLE (subject to alteration)

11.00am to 1.00pm

  • President takes the chair
  • Reading of Holy Scripture and Prayer
  • List of members of the General Synod to be laid on the table
  • Presentation of The Book of Common Prayer (2004)
  • Nomination of an assessor by the President
  • President’s Address
    Welcome to the Most Rev Seán Brady, Archbishop of Armagh, the Rev Dr Ivan McKay, Moderator of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland, the Rev W James Rea, President of the Methodist Church in Ireland and the Ven Arfon Williams from the Church in Wales.
  • Motion No 1 (Timetable)
  • Motion No 2 (Education Reports)
  • Formal business and communications
  • Bill No 1

2.00pm to 6.30pm

  • Answers to requests for information (if any) (SO 51)
  • Continuation of Bill No 1
  • Report of the Pensions Board (not more than 30 minutes)
  • Report of The Covenant Council (not more than 20 minutes)
  • Report of the Council for Mission in Ireland and the Council for the Church Overseas
    (not more than 45 minutes)
  • Motion No 3 (Mission Councils) in the names of the Very Rev SH Lowry and Mrs R Moore (not more than 15 minutes)
  • Report of the Committee for Christian Unity (not more than 45 minutes)
  • Report of the Liturgical Advisory Committee (not more than 30 minutes)

If business listed for any period is completed before the hour appointed, reports listed for Thursday afternoon will be taken in reverse order, commencing with the Commission on Church Buildings.

References in this motion to a “report” shall include any resolutions accompanying such report on the agenda paper.

If you have any questions, comments or problems please contact us.
Copyright 2004 Church of Ireland. All rights reserved.